Connecting to Collections Care Online Community

Original State versus Preservation

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Keila Rone
      Participant

Hello, I am a graduate student in George Washington University’s Museum Studies program.

I recently came across an interesting collection item that is going to be used for an upcoming exhibition. It is a shirt that was worn in the desert by an illegal immigrant and left at a drop site. The shirt is covered with dirt, sweat, and even pieces of grass or hay. Since the shirt is being used to tell the story of immigration, the decision was made to keep the shirt pretty much as is and to only do minor conservation work to stabilize the piece. I thought this was a cool idea, but I was wondering what other conservators might have done with the shirt and how they may reach their decision. In my mind, I see a scale with a ratio between story and conservation on which a piece like this is placed. If you want to preserve the story, you have to give up some of the conservation and vise versa. How do you decide where on this scale to place objects?

Tammy Zavinski
      Participant

Hi Keila,

I’m glad you are finding the Connecting to Collections Online Community helpful.

There is a book I would like to recommend to you that addresses the types of concerns you have about decision-making in the practice of conservation.

Caple, Chris. (2000). Conservation Skills: Judgement, Method and Decision Making. Routledge: NY.

Amazon provides a peek at the table of contents here:
      http://www.amazon.com/Conservation-Skills-Judgement-Method-Decision/dp/0415188814#reader_0415188814