Connecting to Collections Care Online Community

Float mounting digital inkjet prints

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      Elizabeth McDermott
      Participant

Hello,

I’m a conservation tech at the PAFA. Our museum recently acquired a series of digital inkjet prints. The paper support is called “Premium Luster Photo Paper” by Epson. I believe this particular paper is encapsulated in polyethylene. The inks are a resin-coated pigment ink (black and white) called “UltraChrome K3.”

The curator wishes to have me float mount the prints but I am at a loss as to what type of adhesive to use for hinging considering inkjet’s notorious sensitivity to water. Furthermore, I’m not quite sure WSP will even adhere to polyethylene. The artist usually dry mounts her prints to Sintra (a PVC product), but we obviously do not wish to use that method for mounting her work. We don’t have a paper conservator on staff to assist me with the framing, so I was hoping that someone in the C2CC community has experience with mounting contemporary digital inkjet prints with their preservation in mind.

Thanks much,
      Liz

Rachel Lapkin
      Participant

Hi Liz,

Have you considered using magnets? I recently started reading about using them here: http://spicerart.com/magnets/

Since the photo paper is relatively light weight (as opposed to textiles) it might be easy to work out what materials to use and what magnets would be effective, especially if you were in touch with someone who has used them before. Check out this great use of magnets here: http://blog.hrc.utexas.edu/2016/04/27/mounting-andy-warhols-polaroids/

Let us know what you decide to do! I’d be interested in hearing about your solution!
      -Rachel

Louise Stewart Beck
      Participant

Hi Liz,

Magnets sound like a really interesting path, Rachel has provided some great resources. I’ve also reached out to some photograph conservators to ask their advice. I’ll keep you posted!

Elizabeth McDermott
      Participant