Connecting to Collections Care Online Community

Acquiring Legal Title To Collections

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Cory Nowak
      Participant

Hoping this is something someone with more experience than can offer guidance for.

Background: I’m a graduate student in Minnesota, and I’ve been working within the archeology curation lab for a few years now while also doing archeological fieldwork. About two years ago I went through our lab’s (which is an official repository and technically a museum) accession records, digitized them and created accession records for collections we didn’t know we had. Being at a university, staff and student turnaround has been a constant, so for the first time there is an actual record of every collection and the collections are nice and orderly on our shelves. This was a pain, sometime in in the early 70’s a few students accessioned what was already within the university, and little information existed when they did it, I get it. Several of the professors who had taught here also had CRM firms and brought in collections from fieldwork, to include field schools offered in the summer. Many of these records had been lost in a flood when the repository was basement level, onto the issue.

Issue: This I believe isn’t a unique issue for archeological repositories that take in collections from fieldwork. The field crew received permission to access land, and presumably there was general understanding (between the Principle Investigator and the Landowner) that artifacts would be recovered and analysed at the repository. However, of the 370ish accessions, I only have two loan agreements from collections that were the result of an archeological undertaking. We have statutes in MN for abandoned property within museums, however, those statutes are with the presumption that a loan agreement exists.